top of page

The Future of Pet Health is Here!

Updated: Nov 21, 2023




Tail wags and warm puppy kisses, my furry friend followers! Happy’s Vet here, with some pawsitively exciting news about telemedicine for pets. As you may know, innovation gets my heart pumping and brain buzzing with ways to improve medical care for your four-legged family members. Read on for how telemedicine/ telehealth can add a little magic to your pet’s life.


Like any doting pet parent, I hate to see anxious faces on my furry patients when they visit the clinic. Telehealth allows me to check in on your pup or kitty from the comfort of their home! In my house call practice in Florida, I always evaluate my patients in person and then we can have follow-up video consults. That means less cramming kitties into carriers and stressful exams. For chronic conditions, I often use a smart collar and telehealth to monitor patients closely without frequent in-person visits. Together we can find problems before they become dire emergencies.


I hold a New York veterinary license, which allows me to have a virtual practice in New York. I meet pets and owners for the first time from the convenience of their couch. We have video chats for a variety of concerns like skin infections, upset tummies, or behavior issues. Owners snap some photos, and videos and follow my directions in the session to show me their pet up close. There are some problems that warrant an in-person visit and I counsel my clients on how to make certain that the session will be the best format for them. But when it is appropriate - it's a huge time and money saver. How awesome is that?




For pets with ongoing conditions, telehealth is a lifesaver! My buddy Bo, a senior beagle with multiple health conditions, wears a smart collar that tracks his activity. I know when he has a rough night before his owner does! My little friend Lucy, who has diabetes, uses a Freestyle Libre monitor so I can view her glucose without needles!


While I always love snuggles with my furry clients, pet owners are incredibly busy and I am grateful we have multiple options for care. Some situations do absolutely still require an in-person peek, sniff, and touch. A veterinarian will be quick to guide you when an office visit is needed. With proper exams and regular preventative care, telehealth/ telemedicine consults between annual visits are convenient for owners.


I have a huge soft spot for pet owners of pets with ongoing medical conditions. I feel very sorry for the clients who continuously have to rearrange their schedules for vet appointments just to keep their pets healthy. By creating special pet health communities, we can elevate care for furry friends with particular needs. What do you think? Should I start with a program for senior pets, anxious COVID puppies, itchy dogs, a fitness club for chunky monkeys (cats and dogs only please), chronic kidney failure kitties, or big-hearted patients?


My vision is to enroll a group of pets in each program and include virtual care as state laws allow, educational videos, interactive webinars, and discounted telehealth support. Do you have thoughts on what community I should launch first? Let me know! Cast a vote!


Which Pet Health Community Would You Like to See First?

  • 0%WiseWhiskers Club

  • 0%ZenPaws Pandemic Edition

  • 0%ScratchPack

  • 0%FluffyToFit Club

You can vote for more than one answer.

Let's team up to leverage technology to help you take the best care of your pet! The future of veterinary medicine is here and this pro-innovation vet couldn't be more excited. Contact me to learn how telehealth or telemedicine can add a little magic to your pet's care!


46 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page